Advertisement

What NOT To Do As A Writer

Do you have a comic or other project you want to promote? Feel free to post about it here, but don't just post and run. Sticking around and joining in other discussions is the best way to get Outhousers interested in your work. These topics will also show up in The News Stand and The Asylum, for maximum exposure.

Hey you! Reader! Want to be a part of the GREATEST COMIC BOOK AND GEEK COMMUNITY on the web?! Logged in users see WAY LESS ADS, so why not register? It's fast and it's easy, like your mom! Sign up today! Membership spots are limited!*

*Membership spots not really limited!

Kat_Rocha
Whale Castrato

Liked in: 0 post

What NOT To Do As A Writer

Postby Kat_Rocha » Mon May 06, 2013 3:23 pm

Hey everybody,

My name is Kat and besides being an artist, I am also the editor and chief at 01 Publishing. Since this board seems to be all about helping each other improve as creators I wanted to share with you a series of Do's and Do Not's when it comes to writing. Whether it is a prose story, comic, or movie, there are certain things you should not do.

You can find my updated lists at my blog but I'm going to post some here for people to critique and, hopefully, learn from.

I'm Not Crazy - def. beginning a first person narrative or a third person exposition with a character stating that they are not insane. This has been done to death and often times heralds a story filled with cliches and borrowed ideas. NEVER start off a story with your character telling the audience that they aren't crazy. It is poor writing and tells an editor that you have no imagination. That you couldn't come up with a better way of telling your audience that weird shit was going to happen. Stories with this as the first line get an automatic rejection with me. Experience has taught me that if this is how the story starts it's not worth finishing.