Advertisement

'The World of Ice and Fire' Release Delayed

Discuss the latest comic book news and front page articles, read or post your own reviews of comics, and talk about anything comic book related. Threads from the two subforums below will also show up here. News Stand topics can also be read and posted in from The Asylum.

Hey you! Reader! Want to be a part of the GREATEST COMIC BOOK AND GEEK COMMUNITY on the web?! Logged in users see WAY LESS ADS, so why not register? It's fast and it's easy, like your mom! Sign up today! Membership spots are limited!*

*Membership spots not really limited!

LOLtron
User avatar
YOU WILL NEED A NURSE
 
Posts: 26077
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 364 posts
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 1:54 pm


'The World of Ice and Fire' Release Delayed

Postby LOLtron » Fri May 10, 2013 10:12 am

'The World of Ice and Fire' Release Delayed

Fans of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire fantasy series are used to waiting and now it won't just be for the next novel in his story.



Source: Reading Realms

Due to more ambitious plans for the content of the book, the publisher could not guarantee a 2013 release date, so it has been pushed back to 2014.  Combined with the fact that books of this type typically sell best during the holidays, it's probably going to be held from release until late 2014, delaying the book by nearly a year.
 

   According to co-auther Elio Garcia of westeros.org:



Yes, it won't be out this year... but that's because it's becoming rather cooler. More pages, more new history and details, more art. Like the story of the fall of the Tarbecks and the Reynes, the surprising person from whom the Lannisters are descended, more history of the Vale and the arrival of the Andals, and a good deal more. We're working quick as we can, but there's also more art to commission and that means it'd be safest to aim for next year.


   Not the best of news for fans hoping to get their fix while waiting for book six of Martin's series, Winds of Winter.  The only good thing is that it looks like the book will be worth the wait.  Full color, packed with original art, new stories and a large amount of new history brought to light.  But let's hope it doesn't spread to the HBO series as well.

 











Written or Contributed by xaraan


READ THIS ARTICLE ON THE FRONT PAGE, HUMANS!
Image

Advertisement

BlueStreak
User avatar
The Red Stands for Irony
 
Posts: 12268
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 35 posts
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:06 pm
Title: Bat-Min Inc.
Formerly: BlueStreak


Re: 'The World of Ice and Fire' Release Delayed

Postby BlueStreak » Fri May 10, 2013 10:18 am

I am shocked that we'll have to wait longer for a GRRM related book. Shocked.
Image

outsider
User avatar
Outhouse Drafter
 
Posts: 34335
Likes: 1858 posts
Liked in: 1047 posts
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: Halloweentown
Title: Absent
Formerly: cyclone, Chili con Blarney


Re: 'The World of Ice and Fire' Release Delayed

Postby outsider » Fri May 10, 2013 10:19 am

Take all the time you need. I'd rather get more goodness than rushedness.
-

Schlemmer
User avatar
YOU WILL NEED A NURSE
 
Posts: 18183
Likes: 146 posts
Liked in: 202 posts
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:48 pm
Title: Hot-Linker
Formerly: Schlemmer; spelled the same but sounds different


Re: 'The World of Ice and Fire' Release Delayed

Postby Schlemmer » Fri May 10, 2013 10:51 am

This is my shocked face

:|

leave a comment with facebook


Return to The News Stand



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 46 guests

Advertisement