Advertisement

Review Group Week 179 - BLACKEST NIGHT #1

Discuss the latest comic book news and front page articles, read or post your own reviews of comics, and talk about anything comic book related. Threads from the two subforums below will also show up here. News Stand topics can also be read and posted in from The Asylum.

Hey you! Reader! Want to be a part of the GREATEST COMIC BOOK AND GEEK COMMUNITY on the web?! Logged in users see WAY LESS ADS, so why not register? It's fast and it's easy, like your mom! Sign up today! Membership spots are limited!*

*Membership spots not really limited!

doombug
Staff Writer

Liked in: 55 posts

Postby doombug » Thu Jul 16, 2009 12:43 am

Yoni I hate and love you at the same time. :wink:

Blackest Night #1

by Geoff Johns and Ivan Reis

So Geoff Johns got me back intop DC comics with JSA the lightning strikes arc and I've read everything he's put out since I got a subscription at my LCS. But only one thing really kept my interest completely and that was green lantern. So when I heard Blackest Night was going to be it's own event and not in the actual books like Sinestro, I got nervous. Glad to say so far my fears have been quelled.

There are plenty of reasons to list just why Blackest night worked extremely well. From Geoff Johns brilliant use of continuity (looking at you all the stuff between barry and hal) to Scar going after her fellow guardians it was all here. The issue builds up the suspense until those last few pages hit you as hard as humanly possible.

There are references to the past for longtime dcu readers as well as some very brilliant character moments to build up exactly what happens. Loved visiting coast city and seeing Hal's extended family.