Advertisement

I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Do you have a comic or other project you want to promote? Feel free to post about it here, but don't just post and run. Sticking around and joining in other discussions is the best way to get Outhousers interested in your work. These topics will also show up in The News Stand and The Asylum, for maximum exposure.

Hey you! Reader! Want to be a part of the GREATEST COMIC BOOK AND GEEK COMMUNITY on the web?! Logged in users see WAY LESS ADS, so why not register? It's fast and it's easy, like your mom! Sign up today! Membership spots are limited!*

*Membership spots not really limited!

J.M. Hunter
User avatar
Motherfucker from Hell
 
Posts: 2526
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:58 pm
Title: The Beast!


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby J.M. Hunter » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:50 am

Hah!

Sorry for lack of follow up, I've been recovering from the flu and therefore behind in my classes. So here's the prelim sketch and when I can get back to the pen tool learning I'll show what's the latest.

Image

Advertisement

J.M. Hunter
User avatar
Motherfucker from Hell
 
Posts: 2526
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:58 pm
Title: The Beast!


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby J.M. Hunter » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:04 pm

sdsichero wrote:

and a sample of tracing



Ohhhh I like SD.

I read through the section in my for dummies book first. Went into Illustrator and just messed with it a bit.

Then I watched your link youtubes.

Keep them coming if you want, it can only help.

The Old Doctor
User avatar
A Damn Cuddly Beast
 
Posts: 65156
Likes: 27 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:00 pm
Location: Toronto, ONT, Canadah
Formerly: /人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby The Old Doctor » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:06 pm

J.M. Hunter wrote:Photoshop or illustrator?

I scanned it at 600dpi and saved it as a tif in photoshop. Then I went and opened it up in Illustrator. Tried the pen tool then shit got wonky.

So how do I "hand trace" a logo or something I drew where I actually have more control instead of dealing with a pen tool in Illustrator where it just sorta slices pieces and doesn't listen to me no matter how much I Yell at the screen?

Thoughts? Answers? Witty remarks?


You sir, are in a bit of a tif, aren't you? :-D
"Why are you pointing your screwdrivers like that? They're scientific instruments, not water pistols."
"Oh, the pointing again! They're screwdrivers! What are you going to do? Assemble a cabinet at them?"
"Are you capable of speaking without flapping your hands about?"
""Timey" what? "Timey wimey"?"

Image
IvCNuB4 wrote:The Old Doctor is Cat-Scratch ?
Well that explains a lot :lol:

J.M. Hunter
User avatar
Motherfucker from Hell
 
Posts: 2526
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:58 pm
Title: The Beast!


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby J.M. Hunter » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:07 pm

Cat-Scratch wrote:
You sir, are in a bit of a tif, aren't you? :-D


Hah! Don't ever let anyone tell you, your humor isn't welcomed my friend! Good one. I love bad jokes!

The Old Doctor
User avatar
A Damn Cuddly Beast
 
Posts: 65156
Likes: 27 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:00 pm
Location: Toronto, ONT, Canadah
Formerly: /人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby The Old Doctor » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:08 pm

J.M. Hunter wrote:
Hah! Don't ever let anyone tell you, your humor isn't welcomed my friend! Good one. I love bad jokes!


:-D Someone has to say the old stinkers. :wink:
"Why are you pointing your screwdrivers like that? They're scientific instruments, not water pistols."
"Oh, the pointing again! They're screwdrivers! What are you going to do? Assemble a cabinet at them?"
"Are you capable of speaking without flapping your hands about?"
""Timey" what? "Timey wimey"?"

Image
IvCNuB4 wrote:The Old Doctor is Cat-Scratch ?
Well that explains a lot :lol:

sdsichero
User avatar
2k11 Outhouse People's Champion
 
Posts: 66435
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 5 posts
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:25 pm
Location: Secret Base, Honolulu, HI
Title: ライダー変身!
Formerly: beta-ray


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby sdsichero » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:23 pm

J.M. Hunter wrote:
Hah! Don't ever let anyone tell you, your humor isn't welcomed my friend! Good one. I love bad jokes!


Cat-Scratch has a gif for telling groaners.

sdsichero
User avatar
2k11 Outhouse People's Champion
 
Posts: 66435
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 5 posts
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:25 pm
Location: Secret Base, Honolulu, HI
Title: ライダー変身!
Formerly: beta-ray


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby sdsichero » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:24 am

J.M. Hunter wrote:Hah!

Sorry for lack of follow up, I've been recovering from the flu and therefore behind in my classes. So here's the prelim sketch and when I can get back to the pen tool learning I'll show what's the latest.

Image


I tried tracing the image with the pen tool in Freehand (R.I.P.). Wasn't sure about some of your lines but this is what I got...

Image

I exported to an Illustrator file so you can futz with it if you want.

EDIT for some reason it will not attach

J.M. Hunter
User avatar
Motherfucker from Hell
 
Posts: 2526
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:58 pm
Title: The Beast!


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby J.M. Hunter » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:33 am

sdsichero wrote:
I tried tracing the image with the pen tool in Freehand (R.I.P.). Wasn't sure about some of your lines but this is what I got...

Image

I exported to an Illustrator file so you can futz with it if you want.

EDIT for some reason it will not attach



Ok,. No. 1) I like how yours looks, it's what I'd go with for the animated version.

no.2) how the hell do you still have freehand?!!

J.M. Hunter
User avatar
Motherfucker from Hell
 
Posts: 2526
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:58 pm
Title: The Beast!


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby J.M. Hunter » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:36 am

Also to add, Sd since you've now messed with the logo, what are your thoughts on the N-T-E connection?

Would you rather see them as separate characters?

sdsichero
User avatar
2k11 Outhouse People's Champion
 
Posts: 66435
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 5 posts
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:25 pm
Location: Secret Base, Honolulu, HI
Title: ライダー変身!
Formerly: beta-ray


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby sdsichero » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:48 am

J.M. Hunter wrote:Also to add, Sd since you've now messed with the logo, what are your thoughts on the N-T-E connection?

Would you rather see them as separate characters?


I like it. It really puts a unique spin on it.

I still have Freehand because I refuse to give it up. I like it much more than Illustrator.

J.M. Hunter
User avatar
Motherfucker from Hell
 
Posts: 2526
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:58 pm
Title: The Beast!


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby J.M. Hunter » Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:58 pm

Ok, update a bit...not so much progress, as I've barely scratched the surface in my own remedial form.

I finally cracked open photoshop today using a tutorial about basics of the pen tool.

http://www.photoshopessentials.com/basi ... elections/

I got a refresher on clicking points, and closing the object to make a selection. Got a quick command even "ctrl-enter", cool right? Then I got stumped on this part:

Page 2 of the tutorial:

http://www.photoshopessentials.com/basi ... page-2.php


This passage:
"As soon as I do, my path is converted into a selection, and the stop sign is now selected:


Photoshop Pen Tool: The stop sign is now selected after converting the path into a selection.
I'll switch back over to my Layers palette, and to copy the stop sign onto its own layer, I'll use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+J (Win) / Command+J (Mac), which places the sign on its own layer above the Background layer:


Photoshop Pen Tool: The stop sign has now been copied onto its own separate layer."


Well that's just it. I was playing with the pen tool and went about selecting the 'H' character in my logo just for practice. I was able to turn it into a selecting, but I wasn't able to make it into a new/seperate layer other than the background layer.

My image I was working with is a tif, and the background layer remains locked.

I remain stumped, I'm sure it's something I forgot to do originally with the document and when it comes to layers. I hope I don't have to go through the trouble of re-scanning the image just to get a jpeg or work with a psd. My stupid scanner's default is for irfanview and I'm working with an a3 large format mustek.

Like I said I'm sure it's gotta be something with the background layer and such.

But dumb question number 103. Can you work with the pen tool in pshop on a tif and only with the back ground layer?

I decided to go back and read up on layers:

http://www.photoshopessentials.com/basics/layers/

subliminal
expert hobo killer
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 11:34 am


Re: I threw up a new Logo but how do I trace it?

Postby subliminal » Sun Nov 14, 2010 2:54 am

Scan your sketch in at 1200 dpi. Import it in Photoshop and change the mode to Grayscale. Then convert the mode again to Bitmap... choose your dither method. This will give you a super crisp black and white image.

For something more scalable (vector). As everyone else said, use the pen tool in Illustrator. If you have CS3 and up you can Live Trace the scan but the one you have previewed is super easy to trace with the pen tool. Switch to Outline view to see the forms. As a rule, the fewer points the smoother/better the final result.

leave a comment with facebook

Previous

Return to The Creator's Corner



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Advertisement