The Outhouse: The Greatest Comic Book Website - For All Your Comics and Entertainment News, Reviews, and Other Insanity

Big Ten realignment set for 2014, no more Leaders and Legends.

ESPN's Brent Murphy and Adam Rittenberg reports that The Big Ten will be realigning its confereces in 2014. That's when Maryland and Rutgers join the conference, expanding it to fourteen teams. Along the realignment, the Big Ten will be dumping the much-maligned "Leaders" and "Legends" names currently applied to its divisions. They will be replaced by the more logical East and West divisions.

Here's what the new conferences will look like.


Michigan State
Ohio State
Penn State



The East (the former Leaders division) gets the new kids on the block (Maryland and Rutgers), along with former Legends division teams Michigan, and Michigan State. The West (the former Legends division) adds Purdue and Wisconsin.

The new divisions allows the preservation of the Big Ten's most important historical rivalry, Iowa vs. Purdue, with Purdue's addition to the Big Ten West. The rivalry between  Michigan and Ohio State also gets preserved, with both teams in the East. The only protected cross-protected rivalry (for now) is Indiana-Purdue.

(via ESPN)

Originally Published at Shirts With Random Triangles

The Outhouse is sponsored this week by Late Nite Draw. Recently featured on ComicsAlliances' Best Art Ever, he is a Chicago-based commissioned artist with a self-published Digital+Print one-shot coming out in October about the abominable snowman called ABOBAMANIMABBLE, and is also available for commissions. Check out some amazing art by clicking here or by clicking the banner at the top, and support the people who support The Outhouse.

Enjoy this article? Consider supporting The Outhouse, a fan-run site, on Patreon. Click here for more info.