The Outhouse: The Greatest Comic Book Website - For All Your Comics and Entertainment News, Reviews, and Other Insanity

Comics You Should Be Reading: Rachel Rising

A creepy horror story from the creator of Strangers in Paradise is a Comic You Should Be Reading!


Comics You Should Be Reading features a rotating panel of Outhouse writers highlighting some of the best, under-heralded books out today.

Rachel Rising is written and drawn by Terry Moore.

Synopsis of the book: 
Rachel had a bad night.  What was supposed to be a fun night out on the town somehow ended up with Rachel being strangled and buried in a shallow grave out in the woods somewhere.  She rises from this grave at the opening of the first issue and from there, very strange things start to happen.  She's lost time, people in her life don't immediately recognize her, and there's a strange woman (who happens to bear a strong resemblance to Rachel) who keeps showing up and putting the whammy on people – enthralling them to do terrible things.  Also, there's a creepy little girl transporting a dead body, and oh yeah, Rachel seems to be really hard to kill. 

Rachel Rising 1

Reasons why it's awesome: Rachel Rising is an incredibly atmospheric comic full of all kinds of creepy mysteries whose answers remain elusive.  We feel like we never know exactly what's going on at any given moment while reading an issue but it's so continuously fascinating that it leads to multiple re-reads.  Fans may find themselves poring over each page looking for some kind of detail that blows the mystery wide open; they'll end up enjoying the storytelling and luxuriating in its deliberate pacing. 

If you like _____, then you'll like this book:  Honestly, it's a bit difficult to think of a book that works the way this one does.  The mysteries and horror may appeal to readers who enjoyed Joshua Hale Fialkov and Rahsan Ekedal's Echoes limited series from last year.  Anyone who enjoys their frights that come from atmosphere and a general sense of weirdness, as opposed to getting them from monsters or gore, will enjoy Rachel Rising

Rachel Rising 2

Don't take my word for it:  Creator Terry Moore obviously thinks Rachel Rising is pretty good.  Here's what he had to say about the book:

Rachel Rising is a story about things that creep me out; shallow graves that don't work, beautiful things that kill, and a feeling that any minute the world will simply fall apart. In the middle of this nightmare is a beautiful young woman, Rachel, doing what human beings do best... survive, regroup, attack.


Best pick-up point:  Issue one is a good place to start.  Rachel Rising isn't an extension of a long-in-the-tooth brand; this is a brand new series with a brand new concept.  Only four issues have come out so far, so jumping into this pool shouldn't be so difficult. 

Rachel Rising 3

Final thoughts:  Terry Moore, who had an independent comics hit with Strangers in Paradise carried over a lot of what worked in that series into the science-fiction adventure series Echo.  In Rachel Rising, he's doing the best work of his career.  His realistic figure drawing combines with cinematic storytelling that many film directors and editors can learn from.  Narratively, he will keep you guessing and creep you out. 

For more, on Rachel Rising, you can read my review of the first issue.  If you want more Moore, then our own Russ Burlingame has you covered.  Check out his interview series with Moore, entitled the WhatDead.  Here's issue two, and issue three.

Rachel Rising 4

Written or Contributed by: Royal Nonesuch
Our friends at Nix Comics are sponsoring The Outhouse this week. Show them you appreciate it by checking out their comics. One dollar from every Nix Comics sold this month will go to Kirby-4-Heroes.

Enjoy this article? Consider supporting The Outhouse, a fan-run site, on Patreon. Click here for more info.


Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:



Comment without an Outhouse Account using Facebook

We get it. You don't feel like signing up for an Outhouse account, even though it's FREE and EASY! That's okay. You can comment with your Facebook account below and we'll take care of adding it to the stream above. But you really should consider getting a full Outhouse account, which will allow you to quote posts, choose an avatar and sig, and comment on our forums too. If that sounds good to you, sign up for an Outhouse account by clicking here.

Note: while you are welcome to speak your mind freely on any topic, we do ask that you keep discussion civil between each other. Nasty personal attacks against other commenters is strongly discouraged. Thanks!
Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:

About the Author - Royal Nonesuch


As Senior Media Correspondent (which may be a made-up title), Royal Nonesuch tends to spearhead a lot of film and television content on The Outhouse. He's still a very active participant in the comic book section of the site, though. Nonesuch writes reviews of film, television, and comics, and conducts interviews for the site as well.  You can reach out to him on Twitter or with Email.
 

 


More articles from Royal Nonesuch