The Outhouse: The Greatest Comic Book Website - For All Your Comics and Entertainment News, Reviews, and Other Insanity

A Humble Apology to the Fans of Cassandra Cain and Stephanie Brown

A Humble Apology to the Fans of Cassandra Cain and Stephanie Brown

The Outhouse would like to issue the following retraction in response to complaints about the use of an unfortunate acronym to describe fans of Cassandra Cain and Stephanie Brown.




 

This morning, this reporter awoke from my recurring dream of a totally non-sexual team-up between Danica Patrick and Batwoman to find that one of my articles, written innocently in earnest defense of disgraced Batgirls Stephanie Brown and Cassandra Cain, had offended Sue, the lovely and talented writer of DC Women Kicking Ass. DC Women Kicking Ass is a wonderful blog that showcases women in DC comics (and sometimes other comics) that, well, kick ass. It is a fine site that represents an under-serviced demographic, the approximately .005% of comics readers who are female, and provides a female voice in a journalism community that is traditionally very male-oriented.

Like most comic book readers, this reporter has only ever interacted with an actual woman four times in my lifetime. Three of those times resulted in restraining orders, and the fourth resulted in something even worse: marriage. In truth, comics really can be a vile den of sexism, exploitation, objectification, and misogyny, and though The Outhouse attempts to combat this through satire, sometimes we take things too far and become part of the problem rather than the solution.

Above all else, one thing is for certain: DC Women Kicking Ass does not take comic books too seriously, and was entirely justified in being offended by my statements. [Editor's Note: And no, that isn't sarcasm.  This is us admitting we were out of line and saying it was pointed out by a far better blogger than either Jude or ThanosCopter could hope to be.]

You see, it turns out that the innocent acronym I have been using to describe fans of Steph and Cass - Passionate Enthusiasts Dedicated Only to Stephanie, or P.E.D.O.S. - unfortunately and accidentally spells a derogatory abbreviation for adults who are sexually attracted to teenagers. This reporter is horrified at the unintentional implication suggested by the use of this acronym, and would never wish to assert that all fans of Steph and Cass are grown adult males obsessed with the characters because of the unique combination of the desire to have sex with Batman, and the desire to have sex with a teenage girl. There are creepy weirdos in every aspect of fandom, and it it is as unfair of me to, even unintentionally, paint all fans of Cassandra Cain and Stephanie Brown with the same brush as it would be if I were to say that all anime fans were borderline rapists who watch Japanese cartoons purely to see panty shots and tentacle rape scenes with obviously underage characters.

That type of generalization is not true and totally uncalled for. In fact, both characters have a pretty diverse group of fans due to their unique personalities and their history during the comic industry's push into a modern, more diverse age.I, and the Outhouse, would like to wholeheartedly apologize to fans of Steph and Cass, DC Comics, DC Women Kicking Ass, and Catholic Priests everywhere, and reaffirm our dedication to exposing the legitimate mistreatment of these two characters and their fans. And while we've often joked about the Batgirl fans, they have the same sort of passion that led us to build a front page and risk life, limb and employment to update it during the day, despite our impressive salaries of $0 per year.

In restitution for our egregious error, The Outhouse intends to retire the term P.E.D.O.S. forever, and henceforth use a new, respectful acronym to refer to the Passionate Enthusiasts, one that has passed the most rigorous standards of testing and refinement to ensure that it has absolutely no offensive connotations:

Normal and Excitable Comic Readers Only Passion and Hope Is to Let the Industry Accept Comics about Stephanie, or N.E.C.R.O.P.H.I.L.I.A.C.S.

The Outhouse can only hope that DC Woman Kicking Ass, and the comic book industry as a whole, can forgive us for any damage we may have caused. We promise to be more responsible in the future, and treat conspiracy theories about the abuse of fictional characters in funny books with the respect and integrity they deserve.

The Outhouse would also like to extend the invitation to Sue, if she chooses, to share her thoughts on Stephgate with our readers here at the Outhouse. Let us know if you would like to expand your audience by literally dozens of readers, Sue.

 





Enjoy this article? Consider supporting The Outhouse, a fan-run site, on Patreon. Click here for more info.


Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:



Comment without an Outhouse Account using Facebook

We get it. You don't feel like signing up for an Outhouse account, even though it's FREE and EASY! That's okay. You can comment with your Facebook account below and we'll take care of adding it to the stream above. But you really should consider getting a full Outhouse account, which will allow you to quote posts, choose an avatar and sig, and comment on our forums too. If that sounds good to you, sign up for an Outhouse account by clicking here.

Note: while you are welcome to speak your mind freely on any topic, we do ask that you keep discussion civil between each other. Nasty personal attacks against other commenters is strongly discouraged. Thanks!
Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:

About the Author - Jude Terror


Jude Terror is the Webmaster Supreme of The Outhouse and a sarcastic ace reporter dedicated to delivering irreverent comics and entertainment news to The Outhouse's dozens of loyal readers. Driven by a quest for vengeance, Jude Terror taught himself to program and joined The Outhouse. He instantly began working toward his goal of forcing the internet comics community to take itself less seriously and failing miserably.  Ironically, our webmaster, whose website skills know no end, has very little understanding of social networks or how they work.  Regardless, you can find him on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr, but would probably have the most luck just emailing him.

 


More articles from Jude Terror