The Outhouse: The Greatest Comic Book Website - For All Your Comics and Entertainment News, Reviews, and Other Insanity

Chew's on First: Setting the Record Straight on The Chew/Revival Crossover

Chew's on First: Setting the Record Straight on The Chew/Revival Crossover

It may be the greatest crossover of all time... we honestly couldn't tell you!



Source: Press Release

When we first heard about Chew/Revival, a two issue series from Image Comics coming out in May that brings together the creative talents of John Layman, Rob Guillory, Tim Seeley, and Mike Norton, we were, like, super excited. There was only one problem - we had no idea what they were talking about. So we asked Image Publisher Eric Stephenson to answer some questions about it in an attempt to clear things up.

OH: Hi Eric, thanks for joining us.

ES: My pleasure.

OH: What's the deal with this crossover?

ES: It's John Layman and Rob Guillory's Chew crossing over with Tim Seeley and Mike Norton's Revival.

OH: Tim Seeley and Mike Norton's revival of what?

ES: What?

OH: I'm asking you.

ES: Revival. It's the title of the book.

OH: Oooooh. The comic Revival! Of course! We love that book!

ES: Who doesn't?

OH: And it's crossing over with Chew?

ES: With me? No.

OH: Not you. Chew.

ES: Right, it's crossing over with Chew.

OH: Wait, with us? Or with Chew?

ES: I'm not crossing over with anything!

OH: Let's start over. Tell us about this Chew/Revival.

ES: Why does Chew need a revival? It's still going strong.

OH: Arrghh!

Well, that cleared up nothing. Why don't we just post the press release and let you figure things out for yourselves:

 TONY CHU WILL STIR THINGS UP IN WISCONSIN IN CHEW/REVIVAL

Enjoy a delicious blend of the two critically acclaimed series

John Layman & Rob Guillory, the minds behind CHEW, and Tim Seeley & Mike Norton, the architects of the gothic noir REVIVAL, come together to whip up an appetizing fusion of their New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed series for two issues stuffed with adventure in a CHEW/REVIVAL cross-over from Image Comics.

Readers will find out what’s on the menu for Tony Chu when he heads into rural Wisconsin—where the dead don’t stay at rest and the living do their best to cope—in CHEW/REVIVAL #1.

“In my head I've got a checklist of all my favorite books I want Chew to crossover with, if for no other reason than it gives me an opportunity to visit a world that isn't mine, that I'd nonetheless like to play in,” said Layman. “Revival is a the top of the list, and I'm stoked I've got the opportunity to send Tony Chu to visit. It's a fun opportunity to check out both books for less than a single issue of each.”

“When John [Layman] proposed the idea, I told Tim [Seeley], ‘no way. That will never work,’” admitted Norton. “After a while I thought about it and went back to Tim and said, ‘yeah, no way, that will never work!’ But then, I thought even more on it. I think the way we’re doing it is reminiscent of when indie books of the '80s would cross companies and appear in each book even though you’d never expect those universes to collide. It’s just a matter of loosening up and having some fun.”

Seeley added, “Chew showed us all that there was a place for quality off-kilter series, and we're excited to have the cast of our 'rural noir' meet up with America's favorite cibopath. I think we've figured out a great way to take advantage of the ‘WHAT THE HELL’ factor of crossing over two very different worlds that'll make for a great read."

“Honestly, even I was shocked how well the two titles gelled together,” said Guillory. “It's a really, really fun experiment that will surprise fans of both books, I think."

Perfect for fans of CHEW and REVIVAL who are hungry to try something new and a good taste-test for readers new to either series, CHEW/REVIVAL has something for everyone.

CHEW/REVIVAL #1 is served in stores on 5/28, and will be available for $4.99. It can be pre-ordered using Diamond Code MAR140497. 





Our friends at Nix Comics are sponsoring The Outhouse this week. Show them you appreciate it by checking out their comics. One dollar from every Nix Comics sold this month will go to Kirby-4-Heroes.

Enjoy this article? Consider supporting The Outhouse, a fan-run site, on Patreon. Click here for more info.

You Might Also Like:



Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:



Comment without an Outhouse Account using Facebook

We get it. You don't feel like signing up for an Outhouse account, even though it's FREE and EASY! That's okay. You can comment with your Facebook account below and we'll take care of adding it to the stream above. But you really should consider getting a full Outhouse account, which will allow you to quote posts, choose an avatar and sig, and comment on our forums too. If that sounds good to you, sign up for an Outhouse account by clicking here.

Note: while you are welcome to speak your mind freely on any topic, we do ask that you keep discussion civil between each other. Nasty personal attacks against other commenters is strongly discouraged. Thanks!
Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:

About the Author - Jude Terror


Jude Terror is the Webmaster Supreme of The Outhouse and a sarcastic ace reporter dedicated to delivering irreverent comics and entertainment news to The Outhouse's dozens of loyal readers. Driven by a quest for vengeance, Jude Terror taught himself to program and joined The Outhouse. He instantly began working toward his goal of forcing the internet comics community to take itself less seriously and failing miserably.  Ironically, our webmaster, whose website skills know no end, has very little understanding of social networks or how they work.  Regardless, you can find him on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr, but would probably have the most luck just emailing him.

 


More articles from Jude Terror