Wednesday, December 17, 2014 • Afternoon Edition • "Your boob-window into the world of comics."

Secret Behind George R. R. Martin's Slow Ass Book Release Schedule Revealed!

Written by Jude Terror on Wednesday, May 14 2014 and posted in News with Benefits

Secret Behind George R. R. Martin's Slow Ass Book Release Schedule Revealed!

Martin does all of his writing on a computer running MS DOS.



Fans of George R. R. R. R. R. R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire novels finally have answer to the question of why it takes Martin a decade to put out a new book in the series. According to an interview on the Conan O'Brien show last night, Martin writes all his books in the WordStar 4.0 word processing program on a computer running MS DOS, the command line operating system that preceded Windows. What?! cd C:whatthefuckits2014?! Amirite?!

Martin says that WordStar does everything he wants a word processor to do, and nothing else. He goes on to bash autocorrect and spellcheck, which... okay, he has a point there. For more on this story, we visited Martin at his home. Rather than his trademark steampunk dwarf outfit, Martin greeted us dressed in a colorful pair of zubaz pants and a jean jacket as he ushered us into his office.

"Here it is," Martin boasted, showing off the Tandy 1000 computer he purchased from Radio Shack in 1984. "This is where the magic happens."

Martin then proceeded to type out a single paragraph of the upcoming Winds of Winter novel right in front of us, using just a single finger on each hand and taking 45 minutes. "The hunt and peck method was good enough for the keyboard player in Flock of Seagulls, and it's good enough for me, goddamn it," Martin explained. "Now if you'll excuse me, I have to turn this in to my editor."

Martin saved his work on a 5.25" floppy disk and offered us some Jello Pudding Pops while we waited. "Ah, here he is," chirped Martin as he shoved some batteries into a Teddy Ruxpin doll. "Ted, I've got some new work for you."

"That's great, George!" said the unnaturally happy bear. "Would you like me to tell you a story!"

"Yes! Please do!" Martin clapped his hands excitedly.

Ruxpin read back Martin's paragraph, the first of 47 more describing the food at a feast attended by several characters from the book. We can't reveal any more because of spoilers, even though anyone who reads this will be dead of old age by the time the next book comes out. He didn't cut anything from the text, possibly explaining why Martin's books are so long.

"See?" Martin asked when the bear was finished. "You don't need modern technology to write novels. Why, I..."

Martin was interrupted by a loud buzzing. "Sorry, that's my pager," he told us. "I've got to take this."

"07734... what the heck does that... Oh! Ha ha ha! Isn't that neat?!" the elated Martin laughed, turning the pager upside down to show us that the numbers spelled out the word "hello."

We decided to leave him to his work. For every minute we spent wasting his time, it would be another six years before Winds of Winter was finished.






Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:




Comment without an Outhouse Account using Facebook

We get it. You don't feel like signing up for an Outhouse account, even though it's FREE and EASY! That's okay. You can comment with your Facebook account below and we'll take care of adding it to the stream above. But you really should consider getting a full Outhouse account, which will allow you to quote posts, choose an avatar and sig, and comment on our forums too. If that sounds good to you, sign up for an Outhouse account by clicking here.

Note: while you are welcome to speak your mind freely on any topic, we do ask that you keep discussion civil between each other. Nasty personal attacks against other commenters is strongly discouraged. Thanks!
Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:


About the Author - Jude Terror


Jude Terror is the Webmaster Supreme of The Outhouse and a sarcastic ace reporter dedicated to delivering irreverent comics and entertainment news to The Outhouse's dozens of loyal readers. Driven by a quest for vengeance, Jude Terror taught himself to program and joined The Outhouse. He instantly began working toward his goal of forcing the internet comics community to take itself less seriously and failing miserably.  Ironically, our webmaster, whose website skills know no end, has very little understanding of social networks or how they work.  Regardless, you can find him on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr, but would probably have the most luck just emailing him.

 


More articles from Jude Terror
The Outhouse is not responsible for any butthurt incurred by reading this website. All original content copyright the author. Banner by Ali Jaffery - he's available for commission!