Sunday, January 20, 2019 • Midnight Edition • "The Outhousers of Earth Ugh"

Harvey Awards Back With All-New, All-Different Award Criteria

Written by Tim Midura on Wednesday, June 27 2018 and posted in News with Benefits

Harvey Awards Back With All-New, All-Different Award Criteria

Will Valiant win the award for best non-Valiant publisher?

Source: Press Release

After The Outhouse's exposé revealing Valiant's over-nomination during 2016's Harvey Awards, Baltimore Comic Con dropped the awards show like a bad habit. Shortly thereafter BCC announced the Ringo Awards in their place.

But the Harveys were merely buying their time until people forgot the ballot-stuffing. They've announced all new categories and a new nomination and voting procedure.

New for the 30th Anniversary, nominees for this year's awards will be selected by a handpicked committee of diverse industry voices and voted on by eligible industry professionals. Utilizing ReedPOP's extensive network of comic and industry professionals, attendees who have been previously approved for a Pro Badge or Artist Alley Badge at a 2016, 2017 or 2018 ReedPOP comic convention (New York Comic Con, Emerald City Comic Con, C2E2) are automatically eligible to cast their ballot. Nominees will be announced and voting will begin on August 1st. Voting will conclude on August 23rd.

ReedPOP will host an event on Saturday, October 6th to present this year's awards and honor the life and work of Harvey Kurtzman.

The Harveys new categories include:

  • Book of the Year: Best long-form graphic novel or collection that demonstrating excellence in writing, art or cartooning showcasing great representation of the form.
  • Digital Book of the Year: Best comic or collection originally presented in a digital format
  • Best Children or Young Adult Book: Best long-form original graphic novel or collection presented for younger audiences
  • Best Adaptation from Comic Book/Graphic Novel: Best adaptation to another medium of a work originally presented as a graphic novel, trade collection or comic book
  • Best Manga: Best single manga of the year translated in to English
  • Best European Book: Best European material translated in to English

They will also present special awards:

  • Harvey Kurtzman Award for Humor: Special Award for satire in comic books, graphic novels, comic strips (digital or print) that embodies the spirit of Harvey Kurtzman.
  • Harvey Hall of Fame Award: Honoring creators who have had a distinguished career or impact on the medium for over two decades.

  • International Spotlight Award: Presented to a creator whose work originates outside the United States that has had an impact on the medium.


Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:

Comment without an Outhouse Account using Facebook

We get it. You don't feel like signing up for an Outhouse account, even though it's FREE and EASY! That's okay. You can comment with your Facebook account below and we'll take care of adding it to the stream above. But you really should consider getting a full Outhouse account, which will allow you to quote posts, choose an avatar and sig, and comment on our forums too. If that sounds good to you, sign up for an Outhouse account by clicking here.

Note: while you are welcome to speak your mind freely on any topic, we do ask that you keep discussion civil between each other. Nasty personal attacks against other commenters is strongly discouraged. Thanks!
Help spread the word, loyal readers! Share this story on social media:

About the Author - Tim Midura

Born in the frozen tundra of Massachusetts, Tim Midura has long possessed a love for comic books and records. After stealing the beard of Zeus and inventing the pizza bagel, a much more heavily tattooed and bearded Tim Midura has finally settled in San Diego. He's the world's first comics journalist who doesn't want to become a comics writer. Find him on twitter, facebook or by email.

More articles from Tim Midura
The Outhouse is not responsible for any butthurt incurred by reading this website. All original content copyright the author. Banner by Ali Jaffery - he's available for commission!